Business Plans and Kitchens

11 Jul

Now that the joy of passing my exams has died down a little, I have been back to the nitty-gritty. The nitty-gritty, Mr. Cupcake loves, but which I hate.

Two words:

Business Plan.

Yuck. It feels like I am back at square zero with this business plan writing not going very well. And  no business plan = no business loan. And no business loan = no kitchen and no business. Ugh.

You see, I am more of organic growth kind of girl. Start small and grow gradually, but Mr. Cupcake is all about the viability of the business and the numbers and the future targets. So this is really hard for me.

Right now I am in the thick of things trying to answer two not so simple questions:

  • Why would someone want to buy cupcakes?
  • And why would they want to buy them from me (and not my competitors, for example)?

Both very fully loaded questions and are the ones that will convince the bank to give me a loan.

As I said, things are hard going and I have not only to answer those two questions but also to crystallize my business concept on paper so that I know what I am selling and how I am going to go about selling it.

Luckily I have Mr. Cupcake for the financial modeling part of the business plan because I am hopeless with Excel but he has a full-time job so unfortunately he doesn’t have a lot of spare time to dedicate to this at the moment.

While I chip away on my business plan which needs to be submitted sooner rather than later, we are also on the hunt for a kitchen space. We are calling people and contacting kitchens to see if they want to share their space for a small rental price. Hopefully someone will take Das Cupcake on and I can work in their kitchen baking my cupcakes. We are also investigating places in Frankfurt where we can set up a small kitchen location so please let me know if you know of any small shop spaces that we could transform into our kitchen so that I can bake some more of these!

Like with everything in life. This cupcake business has peaks and valleys and although I am struggling to re-focus my energy and give this business plan an ass kicking, I will get there. There are some positive and awesome things on the horizon, I am sure of it!

8 Responses to “Business Plans and Kitchens”

  1. Holly July 11, 2011 at 16:01 #

    I am certain there are positive things on the horizon for you! And don’t forget to pat yourself on the back for what you have accomplished so far too, because that is also amazing!

    Will be in touch when I’m back from Berlin Xx.

    • Smarti@Santa.com July 12, 2011 at 07:04 #

      So far you have done a phenomenal Job with your Cupcakes. I am sure The Other pieces of The Puzzle will come together! Mr. Cupcake will surely Be there for you too!

      • dascupcake July 12, 2011 at 10:48 #

        Thank you so much for your kind words and for reading my blog.:)

    • dascupcake July 12, 2011 at 10:50 #

      Have a great time! Will definitely be in touch! xx

  2. Lisa July 12, 2011 at 20:15 #

    I agree with Holly!! There are definitely some positive and awesome things on the horizon for you!!! This is an exciting stage for you and your business (albeit, probably a bit scary/frustrating/daunting right now), but just from your attitude and energy, I know you are going to do some amazing things with your cupcakes!!! :) :) xo

  3. Marianna Pool (Marianna46) July 12, 2011 at 21:24 #

    I wish you the best of luck with your business plan and, of course, with your business. Mine is definitely of the “grow it organically or don’t grow it at all” variety, and I would be petrified to do what you’re doing, but I’m behind you all the way and will be looking forward to seeing how it goes for you. I know you’ll be rich and famous some day (as well as a consummate and satisfied food artis)!

    • dascupcake July 14, 2011 at 09:46 #

      Thank you so much for your encouraging words. They mean so much to me. I am definitely petrified but your words of support truly help!

      I hope to get the chance to bake some fabulous cupcakes for you one day!

      • Marianna Pool (Marianna46) July 14, 2011 at 15:04 #

        Well, that would be lovely! Should we meet in Germany, Mexico or the middle of the Atlantic? Seriously, I’m sure your business will be phenomenal and you’ll be known the world around as the queen of cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

